Working Group on Electro-Accumulating Systems has been Established by the Verkhovna Rada Committee on Fuel and Energy Complex, Nuclear Policy and Nuclear Safety

On 5 April 2019, the Verkhovna Rada committee on fuel and energy complex, nuclear policy and nuclear safety with the participation of relevant ministries, departments, associations, international organizations and experts held the first meeting of the Interdepartmental Working Group on the Implementation of electric storage systems, development of a mechanism for stimulating their construction and integration into the Unified Ukrainian Energy System.

Sergiy Titenko, former chairman of the National Electricity Regulatory Commission made a presentation “Security. Reliability. Power System Flexibility. Competition. Fare prices” where he presented his vision on ensuring the balance reliability of the power system functioning by using battery systems developed by Elon Mask.

According to Sergiy Savchuk, Chairman of the State Agency on Energy Efficiency and Energy Saving of Ukraine, "the first meeting of the working group was a logical continuation of the Ukrainian delegation’s visit to the largest exhibition of hydrogen and energy technologies in Europe “Hydrogen + Fuel Cells Europe” where the leading international companies demonstrated the effectiveness of hydrogen innovations for energy storage.

Acting Chairman of the Committee on Fuel and Energy Complex, Nuclear Policy and Nuclear Safety Olexander Dombrovsky proposed to establish 2 working subgroups to focus on the following issues:

  • legislative framework and incentives for attracting investment in the sector;
  • technical solutions for the installing electrical accumulating systems.